Dancing In The Dark

Sound Clips

Buy Links

Buy from JazzCorner


Late Breakthrough
Broken Dreams
Dancing In The Dark
Oval Essence
Early Evening
I Hear A Rhapsody
Have You Heard?

Artist Credits

Rob Schneiderman – piano
Brian Lynch – trumpet
Gary Smulyan – baritone saxophone
Rufus Reid – bass
Billy Hart – drums

This one features six Schneiderman originals together with the title tune and “I Hear a Rhapsody” played in a quintet setting. The dynamic frontline of Brian Lynch on trumpet and Gary Smulyan on baritone saxophone and the fiery rhythmic partnership of bassist Rufus Reid and drummer Billy Hart dance to a wide variety of grooves from the swingin’ opener “Late Breakthrough” and the lilting “Ovalessence” to the funky “Have You Heard?” and the waltzing “Early Evening”.

“…the real deal: solid, bebop-based jazz that is contemporary and speaks of today but doesn’t ignore the past. This is music that can be played time and again and still provide satisfaction and pleasure.” Zan Stewart (contributor to Down Beat, Stereophile, The Los Angeles Times) writes in the linernotes.