Keepin’ In The Groove

Reservoir (RSR CD 144)
  1. Keepin' In The Groove (listen)
  2. Four
  3. On A Misty Night
  4. Tugboat
  5. Daahoud
  6. This Is For Albert (listen)
  7. Caravan
  8. Bebop
  9. Deacceleration

Rob Schneiderman - piano
Rufus Reid - bass
Akira Tana - drums

“Swing first and ask questions later!” is Rob’s description of this reunion with longtime rhythm mates Rufus Reid and Akira Tana. After having played a weeklong club engagement in New York City, the trio captured the “spirit of the gig” in the studio, romping through first-takes of many jazz classics: Bud Powell’s “Keepin’ in the Groove”, ‘Cleanhead’ Vinson’s “Four”, Tadd Dameron’s “On a Misty Night”, Clifford Brown’s “Daahoud”, Wayne Shorter’s “This is for Albert”, “Caravan”, “Dizzy’s Bebop”, and Eddie Harris’ “Deaccelaration”, plus “Tugboat”, Rob’s variation on “I Got Rhythm”. Down Beat magazine gave this one 4 1/2 stars.