New Outlook

Reservoir (RSR CD 106)
  1. New Outlook
  2. Time Waits
  3. Slippin' And Slidin'
  4. Cedar
  5. While We're Young (listen)
  6. I've Got You Under My Skin
  7. Hidden Dreams
  8. Here Today

Rob Schneiderman - piano
Slide Hampton - trombone
Rufus Reid - bass
Akira Tana - drums

Rob’s first Reservoir release is built around the masterful trombone of Slide Hampton. Partners in time Rufus Reid and Akira Tana lay the foundation for eight quartet tracks including four Schneiderman originals: “Slippin’ and Slidin'”, “Hidden Dreams”, “Here Today”, and the title track. Check out Rob’s rhythmic rearrangements of Cole Porter’s “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” and Alec Wilder’s “While We’re Young”. Bud Powell’s beautiful ballad “Time Waits” and “Cedar”, Mike Formanek’s tribute to piano great Cedar Walton complete the session. This one received five bones from Music Hound Jazz.